Eastbound & Down Loaded Up N’ Truckin!

It’s funny how things work out.  Just hours after posting Trucker Randy’s picture I actually got a better look at our namesake.  Just before I had posted the picture two things happened.  First I got an E-mail request for my mailing address – so I thought I was going to be getting some mail soon.  After that a call from Randy himself asking me about what I was doing.  No big deal.  Nothing out of the ordinary.  Boy was I ever wrong!  

After warming up some leftover spaghetti and sitting down to it the doorbell rings.  I had already gotten the mail so I thought it must be UPS leaving a package, maybe for Papa or one of my brothers.  I didn’t want to leave the package out in the cold (it was quite cold for Georgia) so I rushed down to go fetch it.  Remember when the pictures were posted with Randy and HUCKaMOM visited the Wedding Ring Lady?  I’d remember Randy’s jacket anywhere and that’s exactly what I was staring at when I looked out the door!  

“YOU SON OF A GUN!” I exclaimed as we embraced in a Bear Hug.  This was probably the most excited I’d be answering the door unless I was staring at Governor Huckabee or the folks from Publisher’s Clearing House!  Randy (along with his partner Dean) had driven all the way from Akron on the way to pick up a load down South.  They had just enough time to stop by and boy and I sure glad they did!  

I’ve been interested in Trucking for a long time.  Many times during summer vacations during my youth I’d stay up and listen to the late night trucking shows.  If I was not blind Trucking is definitely what I’d want to do for a living.  What a great way to see this great Nation of ours!  I feel a kindred spirit with Randy and all of the folks hauling loads up and down the highways.  They are heroes because they keep our Nation rolling.  We couldn’t do much of anything without them!  Needless to say I’ve always wanted to take a ride in a big rig.  This day I would finally get my taste!  

It may have only been a short trip around the block but I could not have been more happy.  I got a chance to sit in the drivers seat (while in park of course) and blew that wonderful horn (more than once…long blasts that made my heart fill with joy each time).  I remember long road trips as a kid trying to get the truckers to honk and those memories rushed back into my mind each time I pulled the wire and blew that horn!     

While not a kid and not crippled I felt like “Teddy Bear” in the famous Red Sovine song.  I’d like to put these photos to that song but I haven’t figured that out yet so I hope a Youtube video of that song playing is good enough.  

Thanks for stopping by Trucker Randy!  What an awesome surprise!  Please come back and make some room.  I’ll have a suitcase packed next time, boy!  :o)  Drive safely and God’s speed to you, Dean, and all truck drivers everywhere!  God bless Y’all!    


Posted in Uncategorized. Tags: , . Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

